Toothache keeping me from being productive again… but this time it’s good pain.

I had taken the whole day off from work because I had to see an endodontist for root canal therapy. I didn’t know how long it was going to take but I knew that it wouldn’t take all day. I planned to run some errands on my way home then take the time to work on some writing, possibly working on the idea I mentioned previously of turning some novel drafts into screenplay outlines. Then I was going to use that as the impetus to writing a well thought-out blog post as a sequel to the last Writing Progress Wednesday post touching on a similar subject. Then after a couple of hours the Novocaine wore off.

The pain was about as bad as when the abscess started hurting a couple of weeks ago, before I took amoxicillin for it. This was especially irritating as I was in the middle of shopping at a book store, trying to use up a gift card my father gave me for my birthday. What should have been a quick and fun excursion became a long and stressful endeavor as I couldn’t focus on what I was doing. I eventually picked out some books and I’m sure I’ll enjoy them, but I wish I wasn’t so distracted.

The distraction continued when I came home. To keep myself from focusing on the toothache I jumped immediately into bed with my laptop and surfed the web for a bit.I ended up falling asleep right before dinner time. Then I took the pain medicine the endodontist recommended, which is over-the counter stuff but in much higher doses than what the packaging says to take. (As it is, I reduced the dose as I realized I forgot to ask about what strength ibuprofen I was supposed to get.) I’m quite tired now, and I can only guess that the medicine has something to do with it. But whatever the reason, I’m wiped out, and I’m still in pain—certainly not in as much pain as earlier today, but it’s constant and I have a hard time concentrating on what I’m doing.

I’m being a whiny nuisance here but for accuracy’s sake let me just clarify what I’m being a whiny nuisance about. I’m not complaining about the pain itself. The pain I’ve been in today is a good pain. It’s because I went to somebody to fix the problem in my tooth. Besides, I know that it’s going to go away in less time than the toothache directly caused by the infection. What bothers me is the fact that I become unproductive as a result of it. I should just not worry about not getting anything done and try to enjoy myself. I could treat it like a sick day home from school and watch a movie. Or I just started The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens last night before light’s out. I’ll probably start on it earlier tonight than I had expected to. Whatever I decide to do, it’s probably better that I try to alleviate the stress caused by the pain than add to it by kicking myself over getting nothing done.

Leave a Reply

