Friday Flash Fiction: A Vampire’s Story, Part Four.

I did start writing this last night, I swear. Unfortunately, I waited too late and in the middle of writing it I fell asleep. When I woke I decided to put off the rest of this section of the story until the morning. I remember that I dreamed something for the scene, but I forgot what it was. Too bad—I seem to remember it was pretty good.

Before I had a chance to contemplate the half-naked young man I felt two hands grip my shoulders. I suddenly found myself a foot up off of the roof. The creature that grabbed me then spun around and flung me back onto the roof several yards. I slammed on my back but felt no pain. I quickly got up to my feet and instinctively took a battle-ready stance myself.

Before me stood a seven-foot-tall woman, snarling. Her long blond hair had been brushed over her left shoulder, revealing that her head was shaved a few inches above the ears. She wore black and red in what looked to be tattered clothing, but fit on her as if every rip were tailored to her figure. She adopted a nonchalant stance, but her vicious face betrayed her calm posture.

“Stay away from it,” she said. “It’s mine.”

“Fine,” I said. “Only I have no idea what you’re talking about. What’s yours?”

“It’s mine. That which you were drooling over.”

“What, that man?”

She paused for a moment, blinking. Apparently she hadn’t thought of her prey as a human being.

“Yes… yes, that creature you called a man. I can smell what you want from him. He’s not your plaything. He’s my prey.”

“I only just met the man. I never met you before. If you had some claim on him….”

I never saw her move closer to me. I only felt the breeze that shot past my body as I found her standing immediately in front of me.

“I said he’s mine. Leave him alone.”

“Fine, have him. Like I said, I just met him. He means nothing to me.

“You lie. I can still smell your lust.”

“How do you know that it’s not for you?”

She bent her head back and laughed an inhuman laugh. It sounded like five laughs from five different people at once and with more reverberation than what atmospheric conditions around us should normally allow. Whenever she spoke, for that matter, it sounded like there was another voice speaking right along with her, hiding in the back of her throat.

“You don’t lust after me. You fear me.”

“Yes, I fear you. I fear myself.”

She stopped laughing then looked at me, thoughtfully. She then nodded in acknowledgement.

“I can tell that you are new to this. You should fear yourself, what you’ve become. You should fear the potential of what you can do now. Who made you what you are now?”

“I have no idea. I can’t recall any of my live before tonight. I woke up underwater, came to sure, fed once and then met this man, who gave me a ride home.”

“It’s mine!” She backhanded across my face. The force was enough to jerk my head to the side but again, I felt no pain or damage. I decided I had enough. I struck back.

At least I attempted to. She grabbed my hand right before it made contact with her throat. She laughed again.

“My, you are feisty, aren’t you? Tell you what, you want this human so much I’ll make you a deal. You can keep your loverboy if you get me an adequate replacement for my next meal”

“I make no deals,” I said. “I don’t know why I came back from whatever ailed me before, but I’m sure it has nothing to do with collecting debt. Sure, I can feel what you smell I feel, but I can walk away from my feelings just as easily.” I held up my hands to show no tricks, then started backing up slowly. She put her hands to her hips and tilted her head, contemplating me.

“You are new at this, aren’t you?” She said. “You really don’t understand. Your emotions are amplified now that you don’t have what these mortals call “life” getting in the way.”

“What the hell does that mean?”

“I’m not going to waste time right now explaining it all to you. But for the moment what it means is that you won’t forget this boy so easily. If I kill him I will become your immortal enemy. You will be consumed with rage towards me. Your main modus operandi for centuries will be revenge, even when you forget why. Of course, as you have seen I’m much stronger than you.”

I didn’t want to admit that she was right. I tried fighting my feelings as best I could but to no avail. Thoughts of the young man consumed me. I tried, in those few seconds we stood there in silence on that rooftop, to reason away these thoughts. I had only just met him. What was so special about him, anyway? His one act of kindness to me of giving me a ride… or was that stupidity? Given this strange new world I found myself in, did I even need a reason? For that matter, when I later discovered more about my previous life I found that I never had any such relationships with other men, at least not that I knew of.

I was snapped out of my thoughts by another backhand across my face. She applied less force this time, intending on catching my attention instead of trying to hurt me. I could then notice that her gloved fingers were elongated and ended in points, as if she had claws.

“Are you going to fight me for him or not?” she said.

“I don’t know… how do I fight you?”

She started to move her mouth but didn’t look like she could find the words. She shook her head violently. “Okay, look. I’m going to hold off on him for now, not to be nice but because there’s no point when you have no idea what you’re doing. There’s plenty of other prey on this planet. But I’ll be watching you. When you’re stronger, then we shall meet again. What is your name?”

I opened my mouth with a reflex, as one would when announcing their names. But then I stopped. I had no idea.

“Not your mortal name, your new one. You haven’t even named yourself yet?”

I shook my head.

“Fine. You can be the ‘Unnamed Vampire’ for all I care. I think you’ll be easy for me to find when I want to. For now, farewell.”

Two gigantic bat-like wings sprouted from her back, lifting her high into the air. For a brief moment I could see her silhouette against the moon, then she sped away into the night.

“Wait, can I do that?” I wondered aloud. I strained my back but nothing came. In a fit of passion I decided to see if I could fly towards the young man’s house. I ran towards the end of the roof and jumped.

It didn’t take me long to land, face first, onto the pavement below. I may be immortal now but I can certainly be rendered unconscious.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

