A short reading to-do list.

I’m skipping a book review for this week so instead I thought I’d jot down a few thoughts on the reading material that I feel that I need to catch up on. I’m in the process of reading some of these materials, while others are on my “to do” list. I could go into a long diatribe about how I’ve been dragging my ass for too long and need to get it in gear and read this stuff, but I’ll hold off on that for now.

  • The current issue of The New Yorker. I subscribe to the Kindle version, which comes out on Sunday evenings. It used to arrive at early enough time that I could read the whole issue before going to bed. Now I’m luck if it comes out an hour beforehand, so I can at least read a few of the shorter articles. Then I’m stuck reading the rest of the week when I could be reading other things. This is an imaginary problem that I brought upon myself. Either way, it’s at the top of my list.
  • Interview With the Vampire. I’m about halfway through this book. I normally could have read the whole thing in one day but I’ve been busy. So I’m going to push to get this done this week. I especially want to get it done before my special request of the audio book version of The Vampire Lestat arrives at my local library. I figured that I would be able to get through it more quickly that way, if I’m trying to do other things over the next couple weeks. I should also be caught up with podcasts by the time I star that one.
  • The Complete works of H.P. Lovecraft. I have a few other collections on my Kindle, such as the complete works of Dickens, Twain and the complete La Comédie humaine by de Balzac. But I’m in the middle of Lovecraft. That, and he’s more my style than the others. I’ll get to them eventually. But before I do I think I might want to check out more material by Algernon Blackwood, a writer of similar works to Lovecraft.
  • Various blogs, articles and so forth online. This is not counting the blogs of people I follow here on WordPress, as I’m fairly good about keeping up with them (although I know I’m not so go with writing comments, liking blog posts and so on—I’m working on it, I promise). But there’s a wealth of information out there that I’m missing out on. I wish I wasn’t looking at things on a back-lit screen all the time when I am reading things online, but that’s a minor complaint. I can send pages to my Kindle, although I found with certain sites it causes the device to crash.
    I also realize that there isn’t as much of an editorial process of things one reads on the Internet as there is with books, and therefore the information could be suspect. But the Internet is good for a jumping-off point for information, at least. And that’s not to say that there are some trustworthy sites out there. But I’m missing out on a lot of commentary as well. And there’s reading lists out there, too. Considering what I’m writing about here that could be dangerous. But I suppose there are worse things to get addicted to.
Leave a Reply

