Five thoughts about “Doctor Strange.”

Earlier today a friend and I went to see Doctor Strange, the latest film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I don’t usually post movie reviews and I usually make lists on Sundays, so tonight I’m offering five thoughts on the movie. You could say that I’m just making an outline for a review and am being too lazy to actually write it out. You’re probably right. But I’m more or less picking five thoughts on the film at random. I’m also leaving out a lot of stuff as well. Don’t say that I didn’t warn you.

  1. I’m fully aware of the controversy surrounding the casting of Tilda Swinton as The Ancient One, and it didn’t bother me. I know that many people have had a problem with the “whitewashing” of an Asian character, as well as changing its gender. At the same time I know that the director of the movie offered a pretty lame excuse for doing so. I really do sympathize with those who take offense at this, even though I don’t have a horse in the race myself. But honestly, I’m such a fan of Tilda Swinton that I forgot all about it.
  2. I wish I had another beer or two before watching this one. Out of all of the Marvel movies, this one is the “trippiest” so far. I could understand what was going on. But I would like to see the movie with some sort of mind, or at least mood alteration before going in. Oh, and by the way, my two-nights-a-year regarding alcohol went right out the window. There’s always New Year’s.
  3. I did have a problem with one scene in particular. Despite all of the fantastic effects in this film, there was one moment which I thought they fell short. There’s a moment in the film when all of the characters are on a giant stone disk in the sky (well, sort of the sky… hard to explain) and their circling each other discussing the situation before they start fighting. In the background the skyline of New York City has been completely distorted and is facing in all different directions. Yet, even with all of the advancement in this area of movie-making technology, I could still tell that they were in front of a green screen. It didn’t help that the villains looked like they were rejects from the Mortal Kombat movies. It ended up feeling like a scene from a 90’s Saturday afternoon martial arts show than a big budget motion picture.
  4. Despite the above two comments, I’m glad I saw this on the big screen. Overall, the effects are amazing. I’m glad that they finally got around to putting this character in a movie and that this was the one that we got. I’m wondering if I would still like it on my small television at home, though. This movie is yet another reason why I need to pay off my credit card bill and buy a big screen T.V.
  5. Overall, it was a fun movie. I always liked Marvel’s celestial characters and the related story lines, that they’re getting close to the Infinity War that they’ve been building up to with the Cinematic Universe. This movie does feel like a step in that direction while at the same time holding it’s own. They do beat the morals of the story over the audience’s heads a bit too often, but I don’t watch superhero movies for substance. I expected fun escapism going into the theater, and that was what I got.
Leave a Reply

