My Halloween Resolutions.

I didn’t have the resources to put together a costume in time, so I just dressed up more than usual at work today (in black and grey, of course) and elaborated my eye make-up a bit. I did put on full face make-up and my cheap costume hooded cape last night for the (ultimately non-existent) trick-or-treaters, and I rather liked the effect. On the plus side, I discovered that by leaving some of the white make-up on the brush, and lightly brushing over my eyeliner it creates a really cool effect where the black looks like it’s fading into my skin, as I did today.

snapshot_20161030_1

Me, ready for trick-or-treaters (well, I probably wouldn’t have held the wine to their faces)

On the minus side, I discovered that I shouldn’t put the white make-up on my face directly after shaving. My neck has been rather itchy today, which I figured was just because I didn’t bother shaving this morning. I just looked in the mirror and saw that the skin there had been irritated somehow. I’m guessing that it had to do with the make-up going into the minute cuts that are caused by shaving.

I don’t need a costume, really. I went right from work to downtown Portsmouth for a couple of beers then the parade. I would rather watch the parade than be in it, and because it’s Monday I didn’t go bar-hopping afterwards. It wasn’t like I needed anybody to see me. But still, it would have been fun to put something together.

So, I have a couple of resolutions to make before next Halloween. First, I seriously need to put together a decent costume, and I need to start working on it as soon as possible. Second, I need to expand my horizons when it comes to horror movies. I watched a couple over the weekend and found that I enjoy the genre more than I thought I would. The only problem is that even with my lack of experience with the horror genre I can tell that Netflix has a pretty lousy selection. There are always hidden gems, to be sure, but it’s still pretty easy to tell the crap sometimes, too. I went to a store downtown today that has a large selection of horror DVDs, but I didn’t know what to get. I don’t want to spend the money if I don’t know if a movie is good or not. I guess I’ll have to hit the library.

Why make this a Halloween resolution, if I can watch horror movies year round? For that matter, if I’m exploring my Gothic side, why use Halloween as a marker at all? I still like to have a sense of occasion. I want next year’s horror movie marathon to actually count. The rest of the year will be for research. (Well, when I can watch movies that is—I’m not dedicating the entire to this resolution.)

I also have to see if I can get a job that will actually play decent music for the holiday as well. I don’t care what the clientele is, on Halloween there should at least be one Misfits song.

Leave a Reply

