Random Thoughts: Blog topics are mixed up this week, completing my comic book collection.

  • Like last week, I’m swapping Tuesday’s Random Thoughts post and Monday’s book review. However, this time I’m not sick. I’m just not done with the book. I had a busy weekend and didn’t actually get a chance to start it today. As I write this I’m around two-thirds of the way through It Happened One Doomsday by Laurence MacNaughton. It’s an enjoyable read but a bit longer than I usually go for, so I didn’t time this well. As a result I didn’t work on the screenplay today. Hopefully I’ll be able to get to that tomorrow.
  • I also skipped yesterday’s Sunday List. I had intended on getting to it this morning. I’ll just throw that up at some point this week. I’ll probably do that on Wednesday, as I’m sure that I’ll have time enough to do that. I’m going to see a horror movie from 1922 at a local movie theater that night. I don’t know how much work I’ll have to report on in regards to the screenplay by then. Maybe I’ll have something to write for Thursday.
  • In other words, my blogging schedule is fucked up this week.
  • I went to a comic book convention in Portland, Maine on Sunday. I knew that it was a long shot to find anything that I needed in my collection as I’m specifically looking for the original Mirage Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles comic books. I only needed one to complete my set of Volume 1, and I was open to picking up any of the others that I needed for my collection. I drove all the way up there, paid five bucks for admission, and wandered around for half an hour not finding anything I was looking for. It was a pretty small con, like I figured, but I still hoped that I would find something. It was a local book around here, after all.
  • After leaving the convention and getting lunch, I decided to check out a comic shop in town that I’ve had good luck with in the past. They didn’t have the specific issue I was looking for in the regular comic book section, so I asked the owner if he might have had that specific issue out back. He checked and produced it. He hadn’t even priced it yet. He said he would sell it to me for eight bucks, which I gladly paid. I had expected to pay more. Granted, between the gas and admission to the comic shop I ended up paying about what I would have paid for a copy on eBay. But I would rather support local shops when I can. And besides, the euphoria of completing my set outweighed any of these problems. Now all I have to do is read Volume 1 straight through. I have no plans this next weekend.
Leave a Reply

