Writing Progress Wednes—I mean Thursday: I think I have to trim this one down a bit.

Yesterday I finished my writing session on page 61 of my screenplay. At a page a minute, and an average movie length of ninety minutes, you would think that I’m about two thirds of the way through my story. But I’m not even halfway through my outline. This means that either the movie will be long or I need to cut a lot out. But it’s too soon to worry about editing the screenplay yet. I want to focus on getting the first draft done first.

I’m at a point in the story when the protagonists start to discover that there’s more than what they initially thought to the group they’ve been interacting with so far. The next scene I have to write is a humorous one, where the daughter of the leader of the occult group tries to warn one of the protagonists. He thinks she’s just crying for help, though, and the scene involves them making noises like they’re having sex so nobody gets suspicious. I’ve noticed that this screenplay is taking on a slightly more humorous tone than I had initially intended. I’m not worried about that other than I don’t normally write humor. I usually don’t think that I’m capable of it. However, we’ll see where this goes. Perhaps this will turn into some sort of horror comedy. Or maybe the humorous bits are the ones that I have to cut out for length.

I had an interesting conversation with a friend this weekend about another screenplay that I wrote years ago. When I was about to graduate college I entered a screenplay to this competition to get paid tuition at a screenwriting school out in Los Angeles. I didn’t get in but I did get word that I was close, which shows it had promise. I abandoned that screenplay but my friend made a point that if it was that good, perhaps I should try again. I should find out which school that was. I should also be cautious, though, and find out whether or not this is really a school that I want to get into.

I don’t know how much I’ll get done today. I know this sounds like an excuse, but I really am distracted by the pain in my mouth. I went to the dentist today and had two fillings done. Now that the Novocaine is wearing off, I’m feeling the work that he did. I took some Ibuprofen in the hopes that it will at least ease the pain enough so I can chill for the rest of the evening. If I don’t get too much writing done, that’s okay. As long as I get something. Hey, I’ve slacked off enough for this long and today I do have a somewhat good excuse. What’s one more day?

Leave a Reply

