I left my headache medicine in the car.

It’s nearly three-thirty in the morning and I’ve been awake for about an hour now. I woke up really dehydrated and with a slight headache from last night’s beers. The headache comes and goes but I’m still tired. Yet I can’t go to sleep. I got some ibuprofen last night that would help but I left it in my car. I don’t dare go outside this early in the morning lest I wake my neighbors. I figured I’ll just brew myself a cup of coffee and start my day early.

I used to take acetaminophen for hangovers and it worked. Then I found out how bad that is for the liver. I used to think I was allergic to ibuprofen because of a bad reaction I had to some Advil years ago. Recently I decided to risk it as I had a severe headache but had to go to work. It worked wonders. I also found it really relaxed me. But I have to be careful. Ibuprofen is risky for those with high blood pressure. I haven’t checked in a while although last I knew I was fine in that area. But high blood pressure runs in my family, or at least the risk is there. I’m usually healthier than most of my relatives. But the concern is still there.

It’s alright getting up this early. Yesterday I started Gone With the Wind. I never read that one before. I only got as far as two hundred pages before I headed out for some errands and dinner. I don’t really want to look at this back-lit screen for too much longer so as soon as I’m done with  this blog post, and perhaps reading a few e-mails, I’ll go back to the book. I want to finish it before I head out to Seattle in a couple of weeks. I really wanted to finish it this weekend. Perhaps this early rise will get me a head start. I got to wait for the coffee to kick in, though.

Is taking ibuprofen after coffee a bad idea? I’d better not think about it. I tend to stress out when worrying about these things, or trying to conduct my own research into them. It isn’t like I do this habitually. I’m talking about this one time, in a couple of hours once the sun rises, running out to my car to take something for my headache. I only treated myself last night because I haven’t done so in a while and I wanted a break from the book. Honestly, I didn’t even have all that much last night. I’m not so sick this morning that I regret doing it. I don’t even feel the lack of sleep that much. It’s possible that I just didn’t need my average eight hours this one time. Either that, or I’m going to end up collapsing by the end of the day.

I’ll still probably do one of my Sunday lists laster.

Leave a Reply

