I’m still here.

I’m sorry that I haven’t been so behind on blog posts lately. I have no good reason for it. I have been writing, but not enough to justify not writing here. I do have some ideas in my drafts folder on WordPress which I’ll address later. But it’s too late for me tonight to get to them. I’m also going to be very busy Thursday, Friday and possibly Saturday evenings so if I get to a blog post it will be a quick one. (On top of that, if I write one on Thursday it will have to be hand-written and published later as I’m going to be out of town.)

No offense, but I’m not apologizing to my readers, even my regular ones. I’m apologizing to myself. I write this for my own blog for my own benefit. If other people read it and like it, great. I think I’ve beaten that sentiment too far into the ground at this point. But I wanted to make clear that I owe myself the apology for not sticking to my own routine. In order to better myself I need discipline.

Speaking of which, I am trying to add more to my life somehow. I need to get back into the meditating twenty minutes a day—perhaps right before I go to bed. I just subscribed to a lot more podcasts to try to broaden my horizons. That gave me an idea for one of my Sunday lists, but alas, I didn’t get to write that this last weekend. I’ll just save it for the next (unless I go for some Easter theme). I essentially dropped practicing guitar or bass out of my routine, but I want to throw that back in there somehow. I’m still sticking to not playing classical guitar for a year. Still, I sometimes wonder if that wasn’t a beneficial part of my routine somehow.

By the way, none of this is to say that I’m not paying attention to what’s happening in the world. I’m aware of the attacks in Belgium, of President Obama’s visit to Cuba and other big stories going on in the world. I would like to address them here but like I said, I won’t have time today and I don’t know how much time I’m going to have over the next week. I haven’t been discussing world events on this blog enough anyway, so what’s one more week?

So yes, I’m still alive. I’m still writing. I’m still kicking myself for not writing. I’ve gotten myself into two routines: the primary routine which I’ve gone over here more times than I care to remember, and the secondary routine of occasionally distracting myself from what I should be doing and then justifying it afterwards. Maybe I shouldn’t cut out the secondary routine entirely, but maybe I should tone it down. The balance feels off.

Leave a Reply

