It’s time to get to work. #writing #music

It didn’t feel right to write a blog post last night. I nearly didn’t write one tonight, either. To be honest, I’m still grieving. But I have to move on. I still need to at least try to write on a daily basis. Even if I’m going to seem a tad obsessive and write about the same topic for a few days I need to push through it. At the same time I hope the tributes don’t stop for a while. It feels like too important a loss to just let go after a few days. Yes, there are other important things in the world right now.* Let us not ignore them. At the same time, however, I hope that his passing isn’t just “trending.”

I have reflected on the past few days about the screenplay I’ve been trying to outline. I’m not going to do it now. I didn’t have much to go on to start with. I had hoped to flesh it out more. Still, something about the death of David Bowie caused me to reflect a little on my own life and my own work. I still celebrate being different and perhaps even “strange” depending on the context. I just don’t want to get too goofy. A zombie film, even with the “artsy” twist I had in mind, felt too goofy. I want to do something more down to Earth. I want to do something more “real.” It can be twisted, perhaps, but real.

I need to dedicate more time to thinking this one through. I do face one obstacle, however, albeit a temporary one. I don’t feel so bad about it. The RPM Challenge is next month. I haven’t quite decided what I’m going to do yet. I think I might tone down the ideas that I had in mind. I was going to try two albums at the same time. It’s possible but I’m not so sure I want to anymore. I’m also concerned about my voice, as it seems to be recovering from a recent cold rather slowly. The cough is also lingering. I know that I still have a few weeks to go. But I’m not able to practice in the meantime.

That won’t stop me from writing the screenplay. Perhaps that should be the challenge to myself: work on the album at the same time as writing a screenplay. I’ll have to see what the nature of the musical project will be first. I don’t think I’m going to do a Shadows of Immurement album this time around. I’m pretty certain that Popkin-Salvador won’t be releasing an album for it, either. (Although we do have some plans for making other music throughout the year. Because of how busy Mike and I are these days with other projects I foresee us releasing songs here and there rather than a full album at any one time.)

It’s time to get to work.

*I first wrote “more” instead of “other.” I’ll let you decide which is more accurate.

Leave a Reply

