I need to catch up before I catch up. #writing #procrastination #chores

I have discovered that when I take a week off of any responsibility I have (other than the actual paying job I go to for nine hours a day) I need to take a day or two to pick up the mess. I mean that literally—I didn’t realize that by lounging around for the better part of the past seven days I have a lot of picking up to do. I had to spend an hour after dinner just doing dishes. Even then I had to leave several plates in the dishpan to soak.

Knowing that I won’t be able to function properly on any creative writing until I get all of these things out of the way, I decided to hold off on the screenplay while I tackle these chores. I got the latest edition of Final Draft so I’m anxious to get started on this project. I’m hoping that this urge will inspire me to get these things done out of the way (and figure out what the hell it is that I’m going to actually write, aside from the few vague ideas that I might even change my mind one once I get started on anyway).

I’m going to make a list of the things that I need to do around here, in the short term, before I get started on the screenplay:

  1. Put away the laundry. I did get around to running my laundry through the washer and dryer but I haven’t gotten around to putting it away. I haven’t even taken the towels out of the dryer, let alone fold them. I also have a load of colored clothing that I washed tonight which I’ll put on the drying rack. I haven’t done that in a while but I seem to remember that practice saves me money.
  2. Iron. Speaking of clothing, I have a lot of ironing to do. In trying to reinstate my sense of discipline I’m trying to get back to dressing a little better for work. I went from business casual back to my sloppy t-shirt and torn jeans when going to work. Granted, I’ve been doing a lot of work in the back room again lately while they still find a receiver. I’m also going to work out back a lot this week in preparation for inventory. But a lot of that won’t involve a lot of lifting or dirt. Besides, it’s not like I’m wearing a suit and a tie or anything. But I don’t want to go all wrinkly.
  3. Put away the holiday wrapping stuff. Not a major project, but it’s a nuisance sometimes to get up in the attic. But I don’t want to look at this wrapping paper until next year.
  4. Take care of my recyclables. I admit it: I’ve had a lot of beer over the last few days, especially on my birthday. I’m not ashamed of that. But I have a lot of bottles to rinse out and take care of. I have a lot of paper to put away, too.
  5. Just generally pick up around here. My apartment doesn’t look like a tornado hit it. Still, I want to take care of everything before it gets that far.
  6. Catch up on my reading.That sounds like a tall order, doesn’t it? I don’t mean read every book that I ever want to, or even every book that I own. I just mean the latest edition of The New Yorker. I’m also in the middle of an old short story by horror writer Algernon Blackwood. I also don’t mean to finish these two things tonight. But I want to make sure that I get enough in that I feel like I’m not putting it off.
  7. Change the passwords with every important account I have online. It’s about that time again. I may put this one off until tomorrow as it’s getting too late to do everything on my list tonight. I might get to it, but I won’t feel so bad about it if I don’t.

My list isn’t that arduous. I just want to make sure that these things get done. It isn’t that I’m procrastinating on the screenplay, either. I’m paying the price for being lazy for so long on these other things first. I’ll “pay the price,” so to speak, for being lazy with my writing starting tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

