Election day again… whoopie. #elections #voting #Maine

I just voted. I still have the same internal debate about whether or not it’s even worth the trip. However, I’m not going to rehash that conversation yet again. There’s enough points of view about the merits of democracy out there, or whether or not we even have one. To that end, I’ve stated multiple times that I’m not even convinced that democracy, even when properly implemented, is the best form of government. But, if we are going to have one and it’s going to work, I like the sound of the “Clean Elections” initiative here in Maine. The other two bond issues I didn’t have strong feelings about, nor did I even bother voting for any of the local politicians. But hey, I showed up.

As I wrote that last paragraph I realized that voting was closed so I looked up the results on said initiative. The majority of precincts have yet to report and it’s very close. At one point I look and the yes vote is winning, just a few moments later after a few more precincts have reported the slim majority is in favor of “no.” At least more people are aware of this issue these days and it’s getting on the ballot.

At the same time, am I getting so interested in the results as somebody genuinely interested in an issue or something akin to a sports fan rooting for his favorite team? My feelings for the issue weren’t that strong. I voted the way I felt but would I be terribly disappointed if the results went the other way? I probably would be at first but I’ll forget it all tomorrow.

As I left a person tried to get me to sign a petition to get marijuana legalization onto the next ballot. As I have said before, I’m all in favor of legalizing marijuana (and I wouldn’t stop at the state level). At the same time, however, once you legalize marijuana you must have laws regulating it. I was too tired to focus on the laws spelled out on the petition so I didn’t sign it tonight. Instead, I got the information from the guy so I could look it up later. I suppose, however, that legalizing it is the first step and changing the laws could come later.

I’m going to cut this blog post a bit short tonight. It’s been too long since I’ve written anything on here. I just had to write something. I’ve decided to try to come up with a better idea for my screenplay after all. No matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t make my previous idea work. I mean, it could work, but it was boring. I’m not putting the project off; once I started writing out the dialogue I realized that it was awful. I’ll try to stick to something a little more fantastic and weird this nest time. That’s what I seem to do best.

Leave a Reply

