How I Learned to Stop Worring and Love the Blog. #blogging #writing

The reason I’ve been so quiet over the past few days isn’t laziness but that I’m starting to rethink this blog—yes, I know, again. While I don’t want to shy away from “controversial” topics in the realm of politics, religion and other social issues, I haven’t come up with anything lately. I’ve been kicking myself for not coming up with a topic every day as a result. As I have said before, once I think of a subject for a blog post writing it out is the easy part. More time is spent on thinking about what I want to say than actually saying it. On principle this is fine, however it’s taking so long now that I often run out of time to write the damn thing.

A few year ago I switched styles to the one I’m talking about. Originally this blog was my diary of each day written in usually three, non-connected paragraphs talking about the most mundane aspects of my life. As I got more comfortable writing the blog I decided I was boring myself so I made the switch. But now I wonder: what if I mixed the two styles? What if I go back to making this blog a diary, in a sense? The primary difference i that now that I am more comfortable writing about concepts and not just listing events, I can sprinkle insights throughout that diary a lot more frequently and fluidly.

The only thing that makes me hesitate is that topical posts seem to draw readers to my blog. It looks like using hashtags in the title work. I still could use them, I suppose, but it might look messy. I guess that’s one thing I would only find out by playing with it.

When I started this blog the whole point was that this was my (almost) daily writing practice. To that end I wrote six times a week without caring how interesting each blog post was. I only did this in blog form because I knew that if I published online I would have more incentive to keep it up each day. I didn’t expect to have readers back then. I didn’t have that many, but they were regular. Then I switched formats and gained some readers, but because I didn’t particularly promote myself I only gained a few. Then I switched sites and suddenly I got a lot more.

I appreciate all of the views and subscribers. But this blog is still meant to be my daily writing practice. I’m going to have to start integrating the old style into the new. As such I guess this blog is going to be a lot more representative of what’s in my mind—lucky you.

One of the reasons I started avoiding writing about politics and religion lately is that I didn’t want to become one of the people who were annoying online. I have several friends on Facebook that keep posting right-wing political nonsense and it was really getting to me. Friday night I got so pissed off that I had to “unfollow” several of those friends. They’re still on my Friends List but I no longer see what they post. Maybe this is a lesson to not get onto Facebook after watching Doctor Strangelove or: How I learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb. I’ve calmed down since and I make no promises I won’t be that person from time to time on this blog. But I need to cut back just for my own sake.

2 thoughts on “How I Learned to Stop Worring and Love the Blog. #blogging #writing

Leave a Reply

