Adopting a goth look. #goth #fashion

I always wanted to adopt a more “goth” look but I never could quite get the hang of it. I don’t know why, it seems like a pretty simple task—find out what clothes to buy, buy them and wear them more often than anything else. But I could never find anything in stores around here that would fit the bill. I found plenty of websites but if I’m starting to form the look I would rather try things on and see what works on me before I buy them. Apparently there was a boutique in Salem, Mass. but the one time I looked into that they were in the process of relocating (or possibly going out of business altogether). I did find one store out in Seattle the one time I was there but everything was quite expensive. I am planning on going out that way next summer. Perhaps I could save up ahead of time.

I don’t know why I get hung up on the expense. I keep thinking of these things as if they were in addition to my “normal” clothes and accessories. Why not just take the leap and the next time I have to replace a pair of pants or something, get something from one of these locations? I have plenty of black. Black is not the problem. But at best I look like a metalhead. That’s been fine for years, as I love the music and go to plenty of metal shows. But as much as I like the music I don’t really fit into the community.

That’s another thing. I’m not trying to look goth to fit in with other goths. I wish to form my own look that takes plenty of inspiration from goth culture, but not to necessarily restrict myself by it. I want to wear what works best for me. Obviously styling my hair is out of the question. I also don’t wear black eyeliner that often—primarily because I wear glasses most of the time, and I don’t like eye make-up with glasses. It’s a hang-up of mine. (I asked an eye doctor once about getting contacts once, with this being one of the reasons in the back of my mind. However, not only would my prescription be difficult to make as contacts, one of the reasons I have bad eyesight is that my eyes are misshapen. I can’t physically wear contacts to start with.)

It’s probably a matter of confidence but I also lament my lack of resources around me. Or is it a lack of resourcefulness? If there is anybody in the New England area that can recommend a shop that can suit my needs, feel free. I might just not know what’s out there. I am willing to shop online but I would get very picky doing so. I’m also on a budget, at least for now. That could change in a few months. I’m looking for a range of looks from simple to complex. I’m open to anything that might be considered “femme” as long as I can pull it off (particularly long skirts).

For now, I’ll just have to stick to what I have. But I really want to make this change. There’s a lot of changes I want to make in my near future. I figured this would be a good one to start with.

Leave a Reply

