I have it, but I can’t get at it. #money #frustration

I normally don’t want to write any more whiny blog posts about my financial problems. But this time I think I have an interesting enough twist to my usual gripes that I figured I’d give myself an exception this time. (That, and I couldn’t think of anything else to write about for today.) This time my problem isn’t so much that I don’t have enough money as much as I can’t access the money I have when I need it.

To start with, when I was approved for that credit card I was told that it would arrive at some point this past week. I’m still waiting. In of itself I could get over that. However, I really could use the card right now. On my way home from work on Thursday I got a call from the bank where I have my checking account, saying that the security on my debit card has been compromised. Fortunately, I didn’t get any fraudulent charges. It wasn’t just me—they had the same alert for several people. Apparently there was breach at yet some other merchant and the bank had to order me a new card. They recommended that I had my card canceled. I made sure that my upcoming bills are taken care of, and complied to their recommendation.

Then I remembered that I forgot to take out any cash beforehand, and it was one of those rare weeks that I had to go out grocery shopping on Thursday instead of my usual Friday. Of course, I had to borrow money from my father again. Only this time it shouldn’t take me so long to pay it back as I didn’t borrow it for lack of having my own. Still, I would have rather paid for my groceries with my credit card as I am a little low on funds this week.

The primary reason I wanted the credit card is so I can take care of upcoming dental bills. I have to go in for a filling on Tuesday. If I don’t get that card by then I’ll have to reschedule. I don’t want to borrow any more from my father. On top of that I wanted to order that new smart phone before I cancel my home Internet connection, like I said in my last post. I would pay for the phone itself in my monthly bills but I have to cover tax and shipping immediately. They have my checking account on file but I wanted to use the card for this one. As I said, I’m low on money this week, which is when I wanted to get all of this taken care of.

All of this frustration came to a head when I found out that my carbon monoxide detector chirped to tell me that the batteries were low. Out of all of the cash that I borrowed from my father, five bucks remained. In the first two places I went to the batteries I needed cost six. Finally I had to compromise my morals and go to Wal-Mart, a store which I despise on many levels. Then I got home and found out that it wasn’t so much the batteries that were the problem, but the connections for them were corroded.

If only all of these outside influences in my life would line up, I would be fine. Instead I feel like I’m getting jerked back and forth. I’m sure it will work out. Things like this always work out. But why do they have to be so frustrating on the way?

Leave a Reply

