Up for promotion. #work

The district manager interviewed me at work today for the promotion I’m trying for. This came as a great relief for a couple of reasons. First, it means I don’t have to play “dress-up” at work for a while. Second, this means that there’s an end in sight to what felt like an excruciatingly long delay in filling this position. Even if I don’t get it (and I’m trying not to get my hopes up, just in case), the position in question directly affects my work. It’s technically the next step above me in my department, although from my understanding that person has very little authority over the receiver. Still, they provide a lot of materials and operations which I depend on. For the last few months the managers have had to perform such functions themselves. That brings its own headaches.

The reason it took so long is because the woman who last filled that position left in January. That time of year it’s quite common for retail stores to cut hours and even personnel as business is down after the holiday season. Despite having good business our store really had to cut hours this year. As a result, a new position meant that people would have to get cut a lot. Some of the part-timers are already working one day a week as it is. That makes sense, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying.

Of course I want the position primarily because of the pay raise. Still, it would be nice to work a desk job again. I don’t want to work in receiving anymore. I don’t want to work in retail at all, but while I’m still there I figured I would try to snatch this position while I can. I still want to try finding that ever-elusive “job with my degree.” Maybe I should try writing a screenplay again.

I should quickly address what I meant earlier by “dress-up.” For the last few weeks I’ve been going to work in business casual as opposed to my usual metal-band t-shirts. My manager advised me to do so as I would have to talk to the district manager at any time. I honestly don’t mind, and if I got the job I would have to every day. But I don’t have many shirts that I could wear in such a setting that I could also wear doing the physical work that I do. Those that do work are too heavy for this time of year. Besides, it’s a pain in the ass to keep ironing all the time. I if I do get this job, one of the first things I’ll do with the raise is go clothes shopping.

I think the interview went well. I had to make sure that she knew that while I don’t run register at this store, I have in nearly every other job I’ve had in the past. It’s only a matter of learning the software. I think I demonstrated that I can manage the other skills required for the job. Now it just comes down to waiting for the decision.

Leave a Reply

