Blog is down while I fix my computer.

The reason I’ve been so silent lately, and will continue to be so for a few more days, is that I’ve had to reset my computer back to its factory settings yet again. I don’t really know what happened, whether I inadvertently received some malware or a bad software update, or something else that I don’t know about. Whatever the case, my computer was not working properly for the last few days.

Now I have to wait to download and install a massive amount of updates from Microsoft. My version of Windows Vista is a few years old. I can’t download certain software until I get certain updates, and they won’t install until I get other updates first. The last time I did this the process took days. Fortunately, I have more of an idea of how to do this so maybe it won’t take quite so long. Still, I don’t risk going online until I’m sure that my computer is more secure. Thankfully, I have nothing tying it to financial information now. Even if I wasn’t such a worry-wort about such matters, I still won’t have time to get online and publish blog posts for a while.

It may take a day or two, but I’ll still try to write in the meantime. I still have several old notebooks that I can use for hand-written journal entries that I can upload to this blog later. I’m going to still try to live my life somewhat similarly to what I had. After all, how much of my life can really be tied up to my computer, anyway? That’s an interesting question to ponder in another blog post—when I have time to write it.

I will still have access to the Internet via my Nintendo Wii should I want to watch movies while I’m working on this problem. I also can use the browser on my Kindle should I wish to check my e-mail, so I’ll still be able to read posts from blogs I follow. I may end up skipping longer ones—the browser on the Kindle isn’t quite as fast as on my laptop—but I’ll keep as “caught up” with things as best I can. The only things that I’ll really get behind on are podcasts, though not by much. Fortunately, even when the computer wasn’t working correctly I still managed to download most of the podcasts that I subscribe to, which are updated earlier in the calendar week.

I’m sure this doesn’t really affect people. Likewise, the primary reason that I’m doing this is because I want to make sure that I at least have something written and posted publicly, so I know that others know that I’m still writing. Also, I’m primarily using this topic to achieve my minimum word count. I could have picked some other topic. Then again, I don’t really have time to write a long essay on current events. Maybe one of these days I’ll be able to get to that. For now, I’m just trying to make it so I can can keep up on said current events.

Leave a Reply

