Getting up on time, going to bed on time. #sleep #work

It’s about an hour and a half before my bedtime and I’m far too energetic. I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that I overslept this morning. By “overslept” I mean that it wasn’t my alarm that woke me up—it was the manager at the store that morning calling me to find out where I was. As far as I can tell, either my alarm clock didn’t go off or it did and I have no memory of getting up to turn it off. I’m kicking myself not just for missing that one alarm, but turning my other three off; I had three separate alarms on my cell phone which I turned off this week. Before today I always got up at the one on my clock. I would have to make a point to turn off my cell phone. Otherwise it would annoy the hell out of me while I tried getting ready for work in the morning.

I didn’t even stay up late last night. I did for the last few nights, though. Is it possible that I needed to catch up? That’s happened to me before but usually on a Saturday morning. It’s still too early in the week to worry about that. I only ended up being forty minutes late, which will largely be overlooked. I get “points” added to my record but as I had none to start with I’m not worried about it. Still, this sort of thing never happens to me. I have dozed off after turning off an alarm before, but I always remember turning off that alarm afterwards.

I turned the cell phone’s alarms on again for tomorrow. I’m not going to take any chances. I’m especially concerned now that I’m so awake this late in the day. I don’t know when I’ll fall asleep. As soon as I’m done with this blog post I’ll try to relax for a while. That’s supposed to be my routine, anyway. I didn’t realize how hard turning off my computer an hour before going to bed would get. Apparently it’s more difficult than I thought.

All of this brought back to mind the idea I had to become a night person. I’ve considered going to bed when I get home and getting up in the middle of the night. The only problem is that at the earliest I would get up at eleven in the evening. That won’t do me any good if I wanted to go out on a Saturday night. That also would disrupt any sort of appointments I would need to make during the day. I wouldn’t want to fall asleep while I’m at the dentist.

Besides, what would I gain from staying up in the middle of the night? Writing at night sounds like a romantic idea, but I can manufacture the ambience if I need to. Until I can make money by writing and can pick my own hours I’ll make do. I need to concern myself with how much I sleep, not when I sleep.

Leave a Reply

