Nearing the end of the first draft.

Pardon me while I indulge in a self-motivating blog post. I haven’t don’t one of these in a while and I always felt embarrassed afterwards when I realize what it was that I had written. I always thought that they were corny and I felt bad if I didn’t accomplish what I was trying to accomplish. This time I’m writing one of those posts knowing full well what I’m doing. I recognized that I need to work myself up in order to get a project done soon and figured that beating myself up on my own blog would help. That, and I couldn’t think of anything else to write about today.

I recently started the next-to-last chapter of my novel. I keep thinking that there have been too many days of slacking off. It shouldn’t have taken me this long to write what I have already. In the back of my mind I know that’s a frivolous argument, that there’s no time limit on writing a book unless assigned one by a publisher. I can take my time if I have to. I certainly expect the revision process to take a while. But I think about all of the days in which I accomplished so little mainly because I kept distracting myself and I get annoyed. I’m pleased with the progress of the content of the book but not the time it’s taken to write it.

I don’t expect these next two chapters to be very long. The story is starting to wind down now. This one that I’m on might be of average length compared to the preceding chapters but I won’t kick myself if it isn’t. But either way it shouldn’t take too long to write. My goal is to finish the first draft of this book by the end of the month. That’s just under two weeks from now. That should give me plenty of time to write these two chapters as long as I don’t fart around during writing time each day. As it’s a horror story (in a way) I suppose that it only fits to have this book done by Halloween.

To this end I’m going to skip guitar practice until that book is done. I’ve gone longer without practicing and have been able to pick it up again without a problem so I’m not worried about it this time. I haven’t been jogging much in the last few weeks primarily because I’ve changed my sleeping habits and I’m still getting used to that change. I don’t want to jog when I’m not in the best condition for it to start with. My point is that a few more weeks won’t matter. I also see myself going out for coffee a lot more than usual so I don’t have the distractions of home. I may not be rich these days but I figured that I could hypothetically afford a cup of coffee each day as long as I don’t get anything fancy.

I might still take time out for relaxation next weekend. There’s a couple of concerts I want to go to if I can swing them. There’s also some work I may have to do for my father as he’s having surgery on Thursday and won’t be able to move around for a while. Otherwise I’ll be working on this book whenever I’m not at my day job for the next few weeks. It’s time to get this thing done.

Leave a Reply

