Taking at least nine days off from this blog.

This is going to be the last blog post I write until at least Sunday, July 27. Next week I’m going on vacation from work. I decided that I’m going to take a vacation from a lot of aspects of my life as well and try to enjoy myself as much as I can within my means. I will work on the novel and probably with a bit more regularity than I have been. I won’t feel the need to write for the blog as much then as I’ll hopefully fulfill higher word count goals every day. I’ll be writing hopefully when I get up and I’ll be more refreshed in order to work. If I do go on a big trip somewhere I may skip the writing so I can enjoy myself but I won’t beat myself up over it like I usually do.

I guess the best way to describe what I’m doing is that I’m taking a vacation from being myself for a while. That’s not entirely true as my tastes in things won’t change. But I won’t worry too much about diet nor will I probably exercise too much. I may even take part in one or two vices from my past, as I’m prone to do when I take this much time off. I’ll probably be out of shape when I go back to work. I’ll take the time back to recover. I doubt I’ll be that far gone, however. I’ll just have to jog a shorter distance than I’m used to at first.

I actually want to spend some time resting, anyway. I’ve had a problem with my left foot for about a year and a half now. It’s much better than it has been but the aches are still there occasionally, especially if I’ve been on it for a while. I want to see what taking some time from running and walking around everywhere will do. I won’t always be off of it, but I’ll try to be off of it more than usual.

I’m still undecided as to whether or not I’m going to take a long bike trip again this year. I’m leaning towards not going. If I do I’ll probably have to shorten it. I may just take a day trip up to Portland or something along those lines. When I decided that I was going to take my bike up to New Brunswick and back I didn’t know that I was going to have to buy a new car right before vacation. I knew my old one had some problems but I didn’t realize just how much. Now I have to deal with registration and the excise tax. That’s not to mention that I have to be mindful of rent as well as the first car payment, whenever that is. I could also just change my mind on a whim and decided to go after all just because I want to. But I really would hate having to borrow more money from people I already owe money to.

If I don’t go I’ll try not to let it bother me. There will be plenty of other opportunities to take that trip. Maybe I can convince a friend to take the trip up for a two-day trip later this year in my new car. I just want to make sure that I can do the trip before my passport runs out.

I’m posting this early so I get my six in this week while still keeping tomorrow afternoon free. I don’t plan on breaking my usual routine tomorrow but I don’t plan on worrying about it, either. Even though my vacation doesn’t officially start until Monday my time off starts at two-thirty tomorrow. I think I’ll snap into “vacation mode” right away. I usually do.

I’ll be back in about nine days.

Leave a Reply

