Changing my diet…?

Last night I spent too long on the Internet trying to figure out some sort of diet plan that would best suit me as a vegetarian. I’ve been trying to get more serious about my health lately at least as far as my eating habits are concerned. I really wanted a plan laid out for me. All I got were guidelines. Fine, but I couldn’t really get a good idea of what I should be doing until I clicked around several websites. I know I should go to multiple sources but the amount I spent online on something that was really just an idle whim at the time got annoying. Finally I got a good idea of the scope of what I need to do in order to have a healthier diet.

I need to eat more walnuts.

After all of that time I came to the conclusion that I was covered as far as most of my  nutrients were concerned. I knew that being a vegetarian I can risk missing a lot. Apparently my biggest concern in that area was the fact that I’m not getting enough omega-3 fatty acids. A big resource for most people of omega-3 fatty acids is fish. But apparently walnuts are also a good source. I resolved to have them as garnish on my salads.

The other thing that I’m concerned with is my sodium intake. This doesn’t have as much to do with being a vegetarian necessarily. However, because I usually eat frozen foods for dinner throughout the week I run the risk of having too much salt in my diet. I’m really going to try cutting down on my sodium in the future. Until I looked it up I didn’t realize that I might have been going well over my daily recommended amount. I know everybody’s needs are different but I don’t think I can get away with that much variation. Anything to do with potential high blood pressure worries me as it runs in my family. I wonder if it just means most of my family has bad diets?

I’m not going to judge. I’m also not going to detail my diet here. I don’t feel like answering people’s recommendations to changes about my diet. It seems like I finally got to the point in my life when people make fun of me for being vegetarian. I’m referring to the people around me that I see all of the time. But I also run into abuse less and less these days. Maybe there’s a shift in society. It could also be that I’m not interacting with strangers as much. But aside from all of that, even if I’m not getting made fun of for not eating meat I still don’t want to have to answer for my food choices. Everybody has an opinion. I’m all for it but in this case I want to figure this problem out myself. If I have problems I’ll seek professional help.

I’m probably getting defensive prematurely there. I actually would take suggestions for anything low-sodium. I’m just not interested in hearing about entire diets that would work for me. I don’t want to go to a camp to learn about some diet that might prevent or even cure cancer. I certainly don’t need five easy tips for a beach body this summer. Believe me, if I wanted to look good when taking my clothes off at the beach I’ll need to spend a lot more money than I have right now on shaving supplies.

Oh, and when I bought a bag of walnuts today I found that they had no sodium. I might have spent too much time finding out that I needed them but even if I’m wrong about the omega-3 thing it didn’t turn out to be a bad investment.

Leave a Reply

