Yay, I can turn again.

I could have skipped writing a blog post today because I did spend a few hours this morning mowing my father’s lawn. It’s a day off but usually on Sundays I try to read an entire book. In that case the mowing would have interfered with my blogging time. However, today I’m caught up with my reading and decided to spend the time trying to catch up on episodes of the podcast Harmontown. I’ve already confessed my obsession with podcasts. I’m listening to this one all the way through, especially so I can keep up with the Dungeons and Dragons segments. That to me isn’t as good a reason to miss a blog post today so I’m trying to squeeze one in before I retire for the evening.

One other thing I did today, although it didn’t take nearly as long as mowing, was to “fix” the turn signal switch on my motorcycle. I put that in quotes because it’s not working exactly like it did when I got it. It used to be that I would have to push the switch in and push it to either side to turn on a signal, then push it in again to stop it. Now all I have to do is to go right to the second step of pushing to either side. It still feels a little rusty but it’s a lot easier to turn on the signals than before. It’s definitely a plus that I don’t have to buy a left hand control setup for the bike as it would cost me around two hundred dollars. I do need to replace a pair of riding gloves that I tore up by having to push so hard to make a right turn signal, but I get those cheap anyway.

I do have to be careful when pushing it in to stop the signals, though. In the process of fixing the thing I dropped a small ball bearing onto my driveway and couldn’t find it. It was supposed to act as a buffer between a spring and another part but now they’re touching each other. I don’t know how much longer this will last. The spring doesn’t exactly affect the electronic components so I can still make a signal, but it has to do with the switch coming back out so I can make another signal. I’m assuming ball bearings are cheap, though. I don’t mind having to take the stuff apart again to put a new one in as I know how it’s supposed to be put back together now.

There, I squeezed a quick blog post in today. I suppose it’s good once in a while to write a blog post in my older style. I know people liked reading about the minutia of my day-to-day life. I’m not going back to that on a permanent basis. Still, it isn’t a bad idea now that my blog posts are usually more topical to give updates in how boring my life is. Now that I wrote that out I’m not sure of the logic behind that statement but it works in my head. By the way, I know I’m behind one post from last week. I was going to write two yesterday but the family got together for dinner to celebrate my father’s birthday. I know I’m going to have to do some more yard work for him again this week which means I’ll be short a post but I will try to write two in one day at some point.

I don’t know why I feel the need to put that information in these blog posts. I’m the only one that really cares if I’m “caught up” on this thing. Shouldn’t I be?

Leave a Reply

