Physical fatigue affecting creativity.

I remember hearing David Huntsberger say on the “Professor Blastoff” podcast that some people don’t understand how working on something creative for hours on end such as writing will cause physical fatigue. I never thought about it before but when I think of the opposite condition it makes sense to me. I still find it intriguing the degree that physical fatigue has on creative endeavors. Yesterday I was sick and I wrote a blog post about it. I knew that even at the time it wasn’t my best quality writing but at least I did something. Today I’m still recovering from whatever it was that I had. I’m not sick any more but I’m still tired. My sleep cycle became messed up over the last day or so, which might be the primary cause of my fatigue.

Today is usually a jogging day. I skipped that on purpose so I could rest. Now I face the fact that I have more time to work on something else, such as the novel that I’m working. Yet the prospect of working on that is daunting to me. That’s part of the problem of fatigue. I lack the ambition to even start. I don’t know how far I’ll get once I get going. With this blog post I’m not moving very quickly. I’m easily distracted. I have a hard time focusing my thoughts. Once the writing starts to flow I then remember that I had something else to do first. Then I’m distracted again, and I’m looking at pictures of Dracula’s mansion which is apparently for sale.

If I’m having such a hard time writing a blog post, will I be able to work on creative writing afterwards? Would it just be better to take the night off for a week and catch up on my reading? The problem is that I tried that earlier but I had a hard time keeping my eyes open. My Kindle isn’t back-lit, but reading requires some energy. I think part if it is due to the fact that I read quickly, which means that my eyes move enough that it tires them out. So I’m not going to translate that into “I’m so tired I can’t write.” The best way to find out is to just try it. That’s what I’m going to do. I just have the feeling that I’m not going to do very well. It wouldn’t be so bad if I was more productive this week. I won’t give a rundown of why I didn’t get much work done but I will say that I didn’t get as much writing in as I wanted to.

So I don’t get very far tonight at least I can say I tried. I would rather have a productive night in terms of the quality of writing in terms of quantity. So far the tone in this novel is slightly different from the way I normally write. It isn’t terribly difficult. As I’m writing it I have the tone of early twentieth century horror writing such as Lovecraft or Poe in my mind. While it isn’t difficult when I’m in more of an energetic state, I’m unsure how it will come out tonight. I could make some coffee, but I want to be able to go to bed on time. Likewise, I’m not about to take a nap, either.

Then again, considering how long it’s taking me to come up with a way to just close this stupid blog post I might as well just go to bed now.

Leave a Reply

