Being lazy is hard work.

Now I’m behind by three posts. I guess I got in a vacation mindset after all. I also don’t know if I’m going to make them up all today. It’s supposed to be unusually warm and the nicest day of the week so I was planning on taking the bike out for a small day trip. I should be spending most of the next three days at home, though. I should be able to get caught up then. At two posts a day I should be fine. Then again, I might just blow everything off for the sake of the vacation. I’m going to take each day as it goes. Needless to say I’m not scheduling any specific time set aside for working on the new novel. I’m sure that I will write at some point. I’m just not scheduling it. If I already write two blog posts a day I might not get in the mood for writing anything else.

Then again, maybe I write better under pressure. I always seem to have more of an urge to work on my creative writing on days that I have limited time to do so, such as when I’m working. I always worked well when I got close to deadlines in school. But then I have to remember I don’t write right away when I get home from work. I usually try to meditate first. That puts me in such a relaxed state that I’m not really working under pressure, despite the short length of time I give myself. I work fast, so I can get two thousand words in under two hours, provided I’m really getting into what I’m doing. I don’t know what that says about the quality of my work, although so far I think this new novel is one of the best things I’ve written.

I may have covered this all before. What I’m primarily getting at is that I’m not making any plans for this week after all but I’m not discounting the idea that I might still get some work done. The same goes for working on any new music. I’m sure I’ll pick up the bass now and then but without any formalized practice time. In other words, I’m trying to allow myself to be lazy but I don’t know if I can do it. The last thing I want to do is to try turning laziness into work. I get the feeling that meditation is going to play a bigger role this week than it usually does in my life.

That is, of course, until Friday when I head down to Worcester for the New England Hardcore and Metal Fest. That day I’m going to dedicate myself to letting it all go.

Leave a Reply

