Filling out reviews of other people. Plus a word about Fred Phelps.

Today at work I filled out a management survey. They give us one every once in a while so they can judge what the general opinion about management is from the employees. I wish more places that I worked for did this. Granted, if I have a problem with you I’ll tell you to your face. If it isn’t important enough I’ll talk to myself angrily as I work out back, but if I think it’s important I’ll say something. Then I’ll go out back and talk angrily to myself. It’s just something I do. I think I might have inherited high blood pressure from my father. I should get that checked. Anyway, the survey is mostly composed of several multiple choice questions where we were supposed to grade each manager on various points such as communication skills, respecting others, and so on. We would fill in ovals to determine if each manager fulfilled each task, with choices ranging from “always” to “never” and then “N/A” (there were spots for six managers but our store only has four). Finally this year they also added a point at the end for people to fill out comments on each one. This time I didn’t have any, but I’m glad it’s there. Of course, if something serious comes up I know there are other avenues for me to go through.

Of course I’m not going to tell you what I put down, not even generally. But I started to think of the nature of the review results. I can imagine that the company is only going to say something to management if somebody gets a lot of negative scores. The reviews are really about measuring general trends than anything else. Not only that, but they are anonymous. Nobody is called on to explain their answers. Then there’s the question of what one person considers a “four” on the grading scale another person considers a “three,” yet they both mean the same thing.

To that end, as it doesn’t really lead to specific action (unless, like I said, in extreme circumstances), then I wonder how easily this type of review could translate to other areas of our life. For example, what about a friend review? Give all of your friends a review with different qualities about you as a friend that you would like feedback on. It would be trickier for you to collect them anonymously. At work we had to elect somebody to collect all of the reviews and hand them in so they get sent to corporate headquarters. Not all of your friends might know each other. It would be easier if you were a corporation. So incorporate. Become a professional friend. Then give all of your friends a review from time to time. If you get answers back like “Gives stupid reviews and is annoying about it” then drop those people as friends. You don’t need friends like that. In reality, this review says more about the person filling out the form than the one getting reviewed. There’s no need for you to change. You just need to befriend the right people for the right results.

—–

I suppose that I probably should say a few words about Fred Phelps as he died yesterday. Yes, he was morally corrupt and led others to morally corrupt beliefs and practices. No, he did not act alone nor was he alone in his beliefs. In any complaint I’ve had about the Westboro Baptist Church in the past I’ve always referred to the organization rather than Phelps himself. Granted, that was sometimes out of laziness and the fact that I forgot his name more than anything else. But really, I have no real amount of words to say about his death. The Westboro Baptist Church, and its evil practices, are ongoing. Apparently Phelps was excommunicated from the Church although I haven’t seen any definite proof as to the reasons why. So my views haven’t changed with the death of one man. In short, he is not really worth any consideration whatsoever.

However, I couldn’t let the subject go without sharing this one picture that I saw on Facebook, which I find most fitting:

Leave a Reply

