Things are winding down (on my end).

It’s getting to the point when I have nothing to report on the album. Mike’s mixing everything these last few days. All I have to offer are comments. I am going to have to head over to Staples to get covers made for the few CDs we’re going to burn for people. I ran out of ink in my printer. This is a cheaper fix this close to the deadline. We’re going to be done right at the last minute tomorrow. I’m hoping that somebody will be at the office of The Wire on Saturday so I can hand it in. Mike is convinced that somebody’s going to be there, considering the nature of the event. I’m inclined to believe that he’s right but I still anxiety over it. I posted a subject on the RPM Challenge message board to ask if anybody will be there just in case. If it turns out that nobody is there then we’ll just have to mail it. As long as it’s dated by the post office properly then at least we have proof that we finished it on time.

Mike sent me some mixes today. Overall they sound pretty good. There’s a few tweaks here and there but nothing major. There’s just a few points where certain instruments might be too loud, for example. But those moments are few. I can’t wait to make this available to the public. I can’t go into details on how we’re making this available yet, primarily because we haven’t decided on anything. So I can’t make any promises. It will be made available online but where and for how much I can’t say. But I am excited about what we’ve done.

Pretty soon I’m going to have to come up with topics on a daily basis again. I hope I didn’t come across this month as using the album as an easy-out in that regard. I wanted to maintain something of a journal about the making of it. At the same time I am looking forward to resuming my usual ranting and raving about things. I have more time to research things now that I have the Internet at home again while only working one job.

I also need to resume my other writing as well. I’m not sure what project I want to work on. I’ve been so preoccupied with working on this album with Mike that I haven’t thought about it. I do want to take this coming weekend off from any sort of intellectual or creative endeavour aside from maybe getting caught up on this week’s The New Yorker. I think the following weekend I’m going to clean up my apartment. It’s been a while. In between those weekends I intend on writing, whatever I decide to write. I was thinking about trying to sell enough poetry so I could buy a new bass. That would take quite a while but it could be a goal that I work on soon.

Leave a Reply

