I might have to change my game plan.

A recent article in The New Yorker explored the tensions between Amazon and the traditional book publishing world. The tension is to be expected. Say what you will about Amazon’s business model and all the crap in their history. I’ve read about all of that in both the piece and in The Huffington Post… on my Amazon Kindle. They’re still presenting a new way of doing things that the old publishers don’t like. There has been a lot of tension between them, especially when it comes to pricing those publishers’ books as e-books. I’m not going to go into a whole review of the article. I’m also not going to make an argument in favor of e-books or printed books. I read both. What I am going to do, however, is related the subject to myself.

I’ve laid out my plan before to self-publish my short stories on Amazon. The whole point was that I was going to see how well they would sell there, and if they sold well enough, then I would have some ammunition when sending out a novel to publishers. Now I’m not so certain that’s a great idea. Given the tension between Amazon and the traditional publishers it might not be wise to bring up my e-book sales to traditional publishers. I’m still planning on putting my short stories there. As far as I can tell there’s no rule that I can’t even shop those stories elsewhere, such as traditional means like magazines. If that’s the case then I’ll probably try both and then use the fact that I was published in magazines when talking to publishers. It’s a lot to look into. I’m all in favor of e-readers but the game has been changing just when I’m getting stuff ready to shop around.

This is going to be one of those short posts that I mentioned would happen. It isn’t so much that I did a lot of work on the album. I did record a new bass track because I was bored but between that and going to the dentist this afternoon I didn’t have a lot of free time. Now that the work on the album is winding down I’m trying to get caught up with all of the other stuff that I missed throughout the month, such as magazine subscriptions and podcasts episodes. I could do this after the challenge is over but I feel like I’m going to spend a lot of time working on fiction writing.

I’m still behind on one blog post. I was too… “out of it” on Saturday night to write a decent one.

Leave a Reply

