Starting work on a new piece of music.

I started another new piece for the RPM Challenge today. My collaborator informed me that he doesn’t think that we’ll be able to make the thirty-five minutes after all. I’m not sure he’s right but I’m fine with making a new piece of music. He’s going away for the weekend and all of the other pieces at this point are “his turn.” In other words, I won’t have much to do as far as the album goes. I started working on a guitar part with a possible corresponding bass line. I’m thinking that this time the bass will be the main instrument. I’m not a world-class bassist but I still make it do what I need it to. I took it upon myself to program a drum pattern and recorded it looping for five minutes. I doubt we’ll keep it that long. I’ll have to see how the overall piece of music goes before I reduce it any.

Overall I’m pleased with the progress we’ve made this month. I’m hoping that he’ll agree to us announcing the project soon. Of course I’m making reports on how we’re doing but I’m not mentioning his or the band’s name. As I write this we have no tracks to post online yet. Hell, we’re getting so close to the deadline now that I am getting a little worried that we’re not going to make it on time. I think we will, but there’s that doubt looming in the back of my mind.

I haven’t really been listening to a lot of music over the course of the month. I did get the new Behemoth album “The Satanist” but I didn’t review it for the “Ragged Good Metal” category. I didn’t want to take the time. I will say here that the production on the album is amazing. I’m still on the fence as to whether or not the music is as good as my favorite Behemoth album “Demigod” from a decade ago. If it doesn’t become my favorite album by them it’s still pretty damn close. Behemoth always seems to be a band that my friends who don’t like death metal still seem to really like. I never could understand that as they aren’t anything but death metal. I guess they’re just that good.

This is the second time that I’ve mentioned death metal while reporting on the album that we’re making. It isn’t any kind of metal. It’s weird to me that I can’t seem to be able to use my favorite type of music to be able to express myself. I would love to learn how to play it. That’s not to say that I don’t like what I’m doing. I say that this album that my collaborator and I are doing may be the best thing that we’ve ever done together.

Leave a Reply

