Getting sentimental about objects.

I’m growing less and less sentimental about things these days. I don’t mean to use “things” in a figurative sense. I’m actually referring to things. For example, in my car there’s a lot of old VHS tapes that I’m about to take to my local Bull Moose to sell to them. I know I won’t get much money but I’m just trying to clear out the apartment. I would get substantially more in store credit but I’ll have to see how much cash they’ll give me. Maybe I’ll be able to use the cash for groceries this week as I am a little short still.

What really gets to me is why I took so long. Was I really hanging onto them for nostalgic value? Aside from one or two rare b-movies I have nothing that’s particularly collectible. Nothing is in that great a condition. If I ever wanted to watch those movies or television shows again I can rent most of them through Netflix. I checked. My VCR broke years ago so I can’t even play any of these tapes. They’ve just been sitting on the shelving unit next to the television collecting dust. The only reason I can think of hanging onto them for so long is because I couldn’t bear to part with them. I don’t know if this qualifies me as a “hoarder” as the collection isn’t particularly huge. But when I get something I tend to hang onto it, especially if it was a gift.

Let’s take the movie “Snowball Express,” for example. I doubt many people have heard of it by now but as it was put out by Disney it’s still available for anybody who wants to see it. I remember seeing that a lot when I was a kid. I had an aunt who had a huge collection of VHS tapes. She would often loan them to me and other members of my family. “Snowball Express” was one of the few that my parents would let me see when I was a kid so I would borrow it a lot. I can’t remember if it was through a yard sale that the tape got in my possession or if I got it when that aunt died. But it was in my collection.

(This is also how I discovered what became my favorite movie of all, “Big Trouble in Little China.” That doesn’t really relate but I thought I’d throw it out there for anybody who truly wants to know me. Watch it!)

That aunt died when I was a kid so I don’t have many memories of her. Because of the connection I still never wanted to get rid of it before. Besides, despite being made by Disney I actually like that movie to some degree. I kept looking at it on the shelf thinking that at some point I would watch it again. I don’t know if that’s true but it’s one of those I found on Netflix.

Finally this week I decided to put all of the tapes in some reusable shopping bags along some other things I want to sell to the store. I’m going to swing by there after I get done here tonight. No tears were shed whereas about ten years ago I might have even welled up. That actually did happen to me at one point when I tried selling some G.I. Joe figures on eBay a few years ago. I wonder if I could actually part with those now. I have a bunch of toys from the eighties in the attic that I could make some money off of. The collector’s market isn’t what it was a decade ago but they must all be worth some money. Only once I try to sell them again will I find out if they’re worth anything else to me now.

Leave a Reply

