Some updates on writing and music.

I finished making notes on the first draft of the novel. Now I have to take the tedious step of typing them on the computer file, save it as “draft two,” and print it out again. This first time I was primarily cleaning up sentences. Now I want to go read it through again and see if there were any other points to catch. I’m looking more now for subject matter than the writing. This may seem backwards as it could result in removing sentences that I just fixed. But it’s the way that I work. Maybe someday I’ll change it but I doubt that for now. I also doubt that there are any plot holes that I need to fix as I outlined the novel before I wrote it.

At some point in the drafting process with short stories I would go through a piece backwards. That way I’m able to work better sentence by sentence. Maybe it’s a technique I should use with this blog. I doubt I’ll be able to do that with the novel. I think I would go crazy because of how long it is. I really would like others to read it for me. I have had very little luck trying to get people I know to read my work and criticize it. I have to find out if there’s somewhere I can send it for review. I know Writer’s Digest used to do that with short stories.

Another thing that I want to do is employ somebody to read the novel to me. I’m hoping that by hearing it I can pick out any changes that I want to make in terms of tone and style. I don’t think it would work so well if I read it myself. The only problem that I have to figure out is how much to pay this person. Should I even bother with a fee or just buy them dinner for every night that they help me? I don’t think I want to do this all in one session. I also don’t think it’s something that people would charge too much for. I don’t need a fully employed secretary. I only want this one task done. I don’t even need the person to act the character’s parts in different voices or read the piece melodramatically. If that helps them read it then that’s fine. I just don’t want them to think like they have to. If I wrote it well enough the words should take care of themselves. That’s what I’m looking for.

With working on this book I have been ignoring some other of my creative pursuits. I’m still in the drafting process of some short stories. Some of them are close enough to being ready for submission. Then I have to figure out how to do that. It isn’t just a matter of mailing a manuscript to a publisher. There’s a little more work involved. I’m happy to do it but I need to know how. Yet again I find another reason why I’m glad I quit the second job.

Another thing that I have been cutting into time for is my music. Once I got back from my last vacation I slacked off with guitar practice. I’ve been getting better at the discipline again lately. I need to re-shift my focus, though. I have been practicing a lot of classical pieces. That’s certainly not a bad idea but with my limited time I need to start working more on my own original work. I got a message lately from the guitarist that’s interested with helping me with performing Shadows of Immurement live. He didn’t seem like he was pressuring me but I did use the message as a reminder that I need to get on the ball as far as that’s concerned.

However, I’m rethinking how I want to put together a live line-up. I’m still going to use the drum machine but I’m thinking of not using a keyboardist. Earlier this year I expressed trepidation at continuing with creating any more Shadows of Immurement music. Lately some ideas have been floating around my head for some music that comes from the same dark and personal space but would head in a different direction. What I’m thinking of would be more guitar-driven than the previous stuff. I’m thinking of a change that’s drastic enough that I would have to go back and rework some of the older songs to fit them in should I get this live line-up going. I won’t find out until I go back to recording some of this new music. Perhaps I’ll make a song or two to get the ideas out there and use the next R.P.M. Challenge to flesh this new style out. I don’t know if he’s reading this but I hope the guitarist I mentioned earlier doesn’t mind waiting a little longer.

Leave a Reply

