Nine out of ten blog readers agree that this title is too long.

The last few times I went to get my teeth cleaned the hygienist recommended that I get prescription toothpaste. Usually I ask if it’s cruelty-free. That seems to end the conversation, as she studies the package for a minute and can’t find an answer for me. That is a factor when I buy such products but there’s another reason that I don’t tell her. I’ve been going to this dentist office for years and have not had any real complaints, but I still understand they’re professionals. They profit when I have bad teeth. Before I spend a lot of money on specialty toothpaste, I want to conduct some research on it. Would it really be worth the money because it would keep me from having all these cavities, or would it not help at all–thereby causing me to go back again for more fillings?

It’s like the old advertising campaign using statistics that sound like “nine out of ten doctors agree” as to the effectiveness of the product. I don’t know if ads use this tactic anymore, but I want to find out who the tenth doctor is. Using the above logic they’re probably the more reliable doctor. Never mind the product being advertised. I want to know what this tenth doctor thinks. By the way, yes, I know that this is not a figure that represents a large number of doctors. I’m quite sure that the family practice that I (sporadically) go to in town wasn’t asked.

The tenth doctor in this scenario is the one that goes against the flow. I like that. I like the idea of going to the maverick for medical advice. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not promoting alternative medicine. That’s a whole other issue. Besides, it’s too broad for me to promote “alternative medicine.” There’s some merit in some of it, but not all. No, what I’m talking about is a licensed, professional doctor who doesn’t think the same way as the others. I want somebody to think outside of the box.

I don’t want to bad-mouth my dentist (and yes, deadclownit, pun intended). Everybody I’ve dealt with there seem to be competent individuals using advanced technology to work on my teeth. I have had a few issues in recent years with some fillings or work on a crown that I had to go back for, but I can account for human error. Besides, in that instance they don’t charge me to rework on something. But just because I trust them to work on my teeth when something does wrong that doesn’t mean that I have to take everything they say without a grain of salt.

I’m all in favor of questioning conventional medicine, but I also promote using your head, too. I already said that there’s certain types of alternative medicine out there to avoid. Homeopathy comes to mind. I also question any sort of medicine that requires cult-like activity from the patient, such as joining to a “community” or going to a health spa. Usually these things make nice vacations, but are highly questionable practices as medicine.

I guess the moral is: question everything. Come to think of it, that would be a good slogan for this blog now….

Leave a Reply

